Occupational First Aid


Occupational First Aid transition to First Aid Response

PHECC and the Health and Safety Authority (HSA) have been working together to examine the future of occupational first aid training (OFA) in Ireland. Currently the HSA recognises the Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI) OFA Level 5N1207 training standard for meeting the needs of OFA. It has recently been agreed between PHECC and the HSA that the PHECC First Aid Response (FAR) Education and Training Standard (introduced in 2014) will replace the current OFA Level 5N1207 course as the established standard for OFA training.

REF: http://www.phecit.ie/Images/PHECC/Career%20and%20Education/Education%20Standards/STN006%20First%20Aid%20Response%20V1.pdf

This programme has been put together to serve the needs and the general public alike who require a standard base of training for first aid. The programme is set down by the Health and Safety Authority and overseen by the Occupational First Aid Assessment Agent. This course allows employers to comply with current health & safety legislation with regard to first aid. This is a FETAC level 5 minor award. Flood Fire & Medical is an Approved OFAAA Provider


Entry Requirements
At present there are no prerequisites in order to participate in this course. This course is delivered through English so students should have a fundamental understanding of the language. The course also involves a number of skills that the students must practice, this will involve bending, kneeling, sitting and lying. If you are likely to have any difficulty with any of these please let the office know in advance and will will do our best to accommodate you.

What’s Involved
This 3 day course covers a large amount of material. Everything from bandaging, minor wounds, sprains and strains up to and including heart attack, epileptic fit’s and administration of aspirin for cardiac chest pain. It will involve a lot of practical work and include the skills necessary to carry out cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR).


Course Syllabus

  • Unit 1: First Aid in the workplace – This Module covers the role of the occupational first aider, the legal requirements and how to effectively ensure the safety of the first aider in the work place
  • Unit 2: Patient Assessment – After this module, the candidate will be able to do a primary survey on a potential casualty. They will know how to take vitals (pulse, breathing, etc) signs and treat a casualty with a suspected neck injury.
  • Unit 3: Respiratory Emergencies – This module covers the functions of the respiratory system and shows the occupational First Aider how to manage a choking patient as well how to do mouth to mouth ventilation’s.
  • Unit 4: Cardiac first response – After this module the student will understand the chain of survival and will be able to activate their links, by calling for an ambulance, starting CPR and using a Defibrillator effectively.
  • Unit 5: Wounds and Bleeding – This module teaches the student how to deal with blood injuries. They will know how to recognise the different types of wounds and know how to treat them. They will be able to deal with head, eye and facial injuries as well as effectively minimizing the consequences of internal bleeding.
  • Unit 6: Altered levels of consciousness – The student learns how to treat shock and how to do the recovery position. This will allow them to treat a casualty who has reduced or lost consciousness.
  • Unit 7: Musculoskeletal injuries – At the end, the student will be able to treat patients who have fractured (broken) bones as well as deal effectively with casualties who have sprains, strains and dislocations.
  • Unit 8: Burns and scalds, chemicals, electric shock – this module covers the treatment of major and minor burns as well as the many different causes of burns. It also covers poisoning and how to treat someone who has been poised. The student will cover electrical shock and how to manage a patient who has been electrocuted.

Certification is

FETAC Certification

FETAC Standards
The Health & Safety Authority has determined that the standard for Occupational First Aid in the workplace will be FETAC Level 5 Occupational First Aid Standard and the assessment of Instructors will be based on the FETAC level 6 Occupational First-Aid Instruction Standard.  Those who achieve the appropriate result in the assessments will be awarded a Fetac Certificate.

Email us : floodfireandmedical@gmail.com
Call Pat on : 087 6766687

Bespoke Training Services